Saturday Cup of Joe from Detroit #163

Jeremy
7 min readJun 22, 2019

163. Thank you for reading the Saturday Cup of Joe. I hope you enjoy this week’s. I have been thinking about how to fit in more of the leadership lessons I’m learning as I write about the housing industry, housing policy, innovation, entrepreneurship and more.

One meeting this week was my friend, Isaac Gilman. Isaac works at one of our affiliated companies. He leads technologists and projects. We hit it off, in part, thanks to our mutual love of Detroit and lifelong learning. He recommended a great podcast that I’m going to pass along now. The American Banker’s podcast Nobody’s Home.

It has been an exciting week of meetings with entrepreneurs through Detroit Startup Week, community builders at the Detroit Riverfront Conservancy and opportunities within our company.

For instance, I have been lucky to have met (thank you, Michelle Busuito) and become friends with Mark Wallace. Mark is the CEO of the Detroit Riverfront Conservancy. His leadership and energy is infectious. The Detroit Riverfront is “a world class gathering place for all.” I look up to Mark and his vision. He’s an incredible friend and trusted community leader. On Thursday, we attended the Simmer on the River to support the Detroit Riverfront. It’s one of the city’s crown jewels spanning the Detroit River and hosting views, events, joggers and myriad photogs. My…

--

--

Jeremy

Thinker, curious leader, once an attorney…always trying to answer well. Working on what’s next and next and next.