Saturday Cup of Joe from Detroit

Jeremy
9 min readJul 20, 2019

Week #167.

I’ve spent 167 weeks in Detroit and written to you each Saturday since my first week. Over the weeks, the newsletter has transformed from a postcard of Detroit into a mortgage industry blog and finally into a collection of articles I read this week. My hope is that it will continue to evolve and last just as long as I continue to find it interesting or pause it to write a book. Either way, I like to include my experience along the way. As always, thank you for reading.

This week was thrilling (and busy). I have been leading teams since before I attended law school and became a lawyer. As my leadership roles grow so do the challenges. I’m thrilled to be allowed to continue to rise to these challenges and help lead teams to big, bold goals. This week was an admirable challenge. I tried (and I hope, succeeded) to organize communication and collaboration among internal teams, connect with my team members to fuel their work and development, contact my colleagues and friends, and find time to read the next chapter of Harry Potter to my daughter. Some days I did better than others (specifically to that last goal). But overall, I was able to drive strategic vision, deepen relationships across the company and present to a room of my team mates on our goals for mindset and success going forward. That’s a good week.

--

--

Jeremy

Thinker, curious leader, once an attorney…always trying to answer well. Working on what’s next and next and next.